REPORT

OF

THE COMMITTEE ON SUBORDINATE LEGISLATION

ASSAM LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY

FOURTEENTH ASSEMBLY



TWENTY SIXTH REPORT

Presented to the HOUSE on 25th February, 2019

CONTENTS

		Page
1. Composition of the Committee		i
2. Introduction		ii
3. Report		1-2
4. Annexure –I	*	3

COMPOSITION OF THE COMMITTEE ON SUBORDINATE LEGISLATION

CHAIRMAN

1. Shri Prodip Hazarika, MLA.

MEMBERS

- 2. Shri Brindaban Goswami, MLA
- 3. Shri Pranab Kalita, MLA
- 4. Shri Bolin Chetia, MLA
- 5. Shri Ashok Kumar Singhi, MLA
- 6. Shri Mrinal Saikia, MLA
- 7. Shri Bir Bhadra Hagjer, MLA
- 8. Dr. Numal Momin, MLA
- 9. Shri Charan Boro, MLA
- 10. Shri Ranoj Pegu, MLA
- 11. Shri Rajdeep Goala, MLA
- 12. Shri Abdur Rashid Mandal, MLA
- 13. Shri Nizam Uddin Choudhury, MLA.

OFFICIAL

- 1. Shri M. K. Deka, Principal Secretary,
- 2. Shri M. K. Sarma, Deputy Secretary,
- 3. Shri Gokul Kalita, Under Secretary,
- 4. Smti. M. Boruah, Committee Officer.

INTRODUCTION

I, the Chairman, Committee on Subordinate Legislation, Assam Legislative Assembly having been authorized by the Committee to present the report on their behalf, present this twenty sixth report of the Committee.

The Committee on Subordinate Legislation was re-constituted on 6th September, 2018 (which is annexed at Annexure-I) by the Hon'ble Speaker, Assam Legislative Assembly to scrutinize the Rules, Sub-Rules, Regulations, Bye- Laws, Orders etc of its various provisions passed by the Assam Legislative Assembly from time to time.

Accordingly, the Committee held its sitting on 6th June, 2017, 24th May, 2018 and 5th September, 2018 respectively and finalized its twenty sixth report on 20th February, 2019.

The Committee places on records its appreciation to the Additional Chief Secretary, Secretary to the Government of Assam, Forest department, the Principal Chief Conservator, Additional Chief Conservator of Forest for their kind cooperation during the deliberation on the meetings.

The Committee places on records its appreciation for the assistance rendered to the Committee by the Officers and staff of the Assam Legislative Assembly attached to the Committee on Subordinate Legislation.

SHRI PRODIP HAZARIKA

Place: Dispur, Chairman

Date: 20th February, 2019. Committee on Subordinate Legislation

REPORT

The Committee on Subordinate Legislation, Assam Legislative Assembly in its meetings held on 6th June, 2017, 24th May, 2018 and 5th September, 2018 discuss about the Assam Forest Protection Force Act, 1986 which was passed by the House in 1986 and the Act came into force from 1987.

The purpose of the Act was to protect all the forest land properly. It is also worth mentioning that after this Act, the reserve forest could not be protected properly. Then the Committee asked whether the relevant Rule of this Act had been framed as required under section 21.

The Committee also expressed that erosion is one of the major threat for the forest land during flood as large part of forest land merged into the river every year.

Therefore, the Committee directed the department concern to consult with the Water Resources Department for taking precautionary measures for proper protection of the forest land from the erosion.

At the end, the Committee Opined that there are large part of area under forest land in Assam and proper planning should be needed to protect the forest land from encroachers, erosion etc, a boundary wall should be built for each and every forest land in Assam.

The Committee also pointed out that the department functions without the relevant rule relying on the basis of manual of police armed force which is not proper because every department's manual vary from each other. As desired by the Committee, the department expressed their views that the department came to know that in the year 2008 the Office of P.C.C.F. framed the Rules and sent the same to the Department. Now, the department is unable to trace out the present status of the said Rule. Therefore the department also feels to frame the Rule without delay to cope up with the situation as some disputes may arise.

Observation and Recommendation:

In view of the above, the Committee observes that due to non framing of the relevant Rules the department cannot functions properly. The failure of the Department to trace out the rule is regretted.

Therefore, the Committee recommends to protect the forest land from all types of threats, a suitable Rule should be framed by the Forest department by covering all aspects as early as possible as required under section 21 and placed the same before the next session of the Assam Legislative Assembly.

ASSAM LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY SECRETARIAT

NOTIFICATION

Dated Dispur, the 6th September, 2018.

No. LASLC 1/2016/1672 : In pursuance of Rule 251 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in Assam Legislative Assembly, the Hon'ble Speaker, Assam Legislative Assembly has been pleased to nominate the following members of the Assam Legislative Assembly to constitute the Committee on Subordinate Legislation, Assam Legislative Assembly.

1. Shri Prodip Hazarika, MLA	&	Chairman
2. Shri Brindaban Goswami, MLA		Member
3. Shri Pranab Kalita, MLA	-	Member
4. Shri Rajdeep Goala,MLA		Member
5. Shri Bolin Chetia, MLA	_	Member
6. Shri Ashok Kumar Singhi, MLA	(C. 2	Member
7. Shri Mrinal Saikia, MLA	-	Member
8. Shri Bir Bhadra Hagjer, MLA		Member
9. Dr. Numal Momin, MLA	<u>u</u> (20)	Member
10. Shri Charan Boro, MLA		Member
11. Shri Ranoj Pegu, MLA		Member
12. Shri Abdur Rashid Mandal, MLA	-	Member
13. Shri Nizam Uddin Choudhury, MLA	-	Member

And, in Pursuance of Sub-Rule(1) of Rule 198 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in Assam Legislative Assembly, the Hon'ble Speaker has been pleased to appoint Shri Prodip Hazarika to be the Chairman of the Committee.

The term of the Committee shall be for a period of one year from the date of its constitution or till a new Committee is constituted.

Sd/- M.K.Deka, Principal Secretary, Assam Legislative Assembly.

Printed at the Assam Govt. (Mini) Press Dispur, Guwahati-6.