ASSAM LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY (SPECIAL SESSION) BULLETIN BRIEF RECORD OF PROCEEDINGS WEDNESDAY, THE 17thAUGUST, 2022

The Special Session of the Assembly commenced at its appointed Hour at 3.00 pm at the Assembly Chamber.

OBITUARY REFERENCES

The Hon'ble Speaker took up the first item of the Agenda of the Sessional Calendar viz. "Obituary Reference". The House condoles the demises of the following eminent personalities including former Members of Assam Legislative Assembly who left for their heavenly abode recently and observed one minute silence as a mark of respect and pray for eternal peace of the departed soul.

-	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	· pray	tor etornar peace of the acparted sour.
	1. Dileswar Tanti	-	Former Minister
	2. Dr. Ardhendu Kr. Dey	- 16.16	Former Minister
	3. Binod Gowala	-4-16	Former Minister
	4. Dalim Chandra Roy	- 6 /6	Former MLA.
	5. Anwar Hussain Laskar	2000	Former MLA.
	6. Rajesh Prasad	-	Senior IAS Officer and Principal Secretary
			to the Govt of Assam.
			A CONTRACTOR OF THE OWNER
	7. Krishna Kanta Lahkar	-	Noted Freedom Fighter.
	8. Jatin Goswami		NotedFreedom Fighter.
	9. Lalit Chandra Bhuyan	-	Noted Freedom Fighter.
	10.Bharat Baishya	-	Noted Freedom Fighter.
	11.Dimbe Prasad Baruah	-	Noted Freedom Fighter.
	12.Atulananda Goswami	-	Renowned Litterateur and recipient of the
			Sahitya Akademi Award.
	13. Madan Ram Choudhury	-	former DGP, Assam
	14.Sankar Prasad kakoti Bor	ra-	former Administrator
	15.Dayaram Rajbanshi	-	Former Secretary of SEBA.
	16.Ajit Kumar Choudhury	-	Former Secretary of Public Works
			Department.
	17. Kalpana Boro	-	Assam Gaurav Awardee.
	18.Dr. Sristidhar Dutta	-	Renowned Educationist, Historian and
			Researcher.

19. Jadav Sen Deka	- 3	Veteran Journalist, Educationist and
		Litterateur.
20.Harendra Nath Borthakur -		Renowned Litterateur, recipient of Sahitya
		Akademi Award.
21.Shiv Kumar Sharma		Padma Vibhushan Awardee, legendary
		Santoor player.
22.Gorima Hazarika	-	Renowned Dancer.
23. Nirmala Mishra	-	Renowned Singer.
24.Sadhan Hazarika	-	Veteran Actor.
25.Tulshi Neog Ojha	-	Folk instrumentalist/Folk instrumental
		Practitioner, Dhol Samrat.
26.Indra Bhushan Nath	-	Eminent poet, lyricist, Former Deputy
		Director of Information and Public Relation
		Department.
27.Dandeswar Saikia	S	Renowned Litterature and Rtd. Director of
		Secondary Education Council of Central
		Govt.
28. Gyanendra Pallab Baruah-		Renowned Actor.
29. Kishor Das	-	Renowned Actor.
30.Abdul Matin	-	Renowned Sports Organizer.
31. Dr. Jeshim Raja	- 44	Senior Journalist.

REPORT OF THE BUSINESS ADVISORY COMMITTEE

The Hon'ble Speaker announced the Report of the Business Advisory Committee with regard to the Business for the Special Session, 2022 of the Assembly.

PANEL OF CHAIRMEN

The Hon'ble Speaker announced the names of the Members constituting the Panel of Chairmen as follows;

- 1) Shri Rekibuddin Ahmed
- 2) Shri Ramendra Narayan Kalita.
- 3) Shri Bidya Sing Engleng.

2

Discussion on Celebration of the "Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav"

The Hon'ble Speaker then took up the fourth but Key Business of the Special session i.e."*Discussion on the celebration of the "Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav" on the occasion of completing the 75 years of India's Independence*". It would be noteworthy to mention that to commemorate the 75 years of Indian Independence and the glorious history of its people, culture and achievements an initiative viz. 'Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav' was celebrated throughout the country under the aegis of the Government of India.

The discussion was initiated with the knowledgeable speech of the Hon'ble Chief Minister Dr. Himanta Biswa Sarma. The Hon'ble Members, cutting across the Partyline, participated in the discussion and recalled the glorious history of the National Freedom Struggle and the sacrifices made by Martyrs and Freedom Fighters to cause our Independence.

The following Hon'ble Members participated in the discussion :

- 1. Shri Basanta Das.
- 2. Shri Hafiz Basir Ahmed.
- 3. Shri Padma Hazarika.
- 4. Shri Atul Bora, Minister.
- 5. Shri Utpal Borah.
- 6. Smti Nandita Das.
- 7. Smti Ajanta Neog, Minister.
- 8. Shri Urkhao Gwra Brahma, Minister.
- 9. Shri Biswajit Phukan.
- 10. Shri Diganta Barman.
- 11. Shri Kaushik Rai.
- 12. Md. Aminul Islam.
- 13. Shri Siddhartha Bhattacharya.
- 14. Shri Kamalakhya Dey Purkayastha.
- 15. Dr.Numal Momin, Deputy Speaker.
- 16. Shri Durga Das Boro.
- 17. Shri Manoranjan Talukdar.
- 18. Shri Bidya Sing Engleng.
- 19. Shri Keshab Mahanta, Minister.
- 20. Shri Rakibul Hussain.
- 21. Dr. Rafiqul Islam.
- 22. Shri Naba Kumar Doley.
- 23. Shri Akhil Gogoi.

- 24. Shri Jakir Hussain Sikdar.
- 25. Shri Sherman Ali Ahmed.
- 26. Shri Gobinda Chandra Basumatary.

Thereafter, the House unanimously adopted a resolution moved by Hon'ble Minister, Parliamentary Affairs etc. to uphold the ideals and values enshrined in the constitution of India for strengthening the democracy.

Valedictory Speech

Hon'ble Speaker made his valedictory speech summarily stating the business transacted during special session and offered his gratitude to the Hon'ble Chief Minister, Hon'ble Ministers, Hon'ble Deputy Speaker, Hon'ble Leader of the Opposition, Hon'ble Members of the House and all the stake holders involved in this Special Session, for their co-operation in conducting the business of the House smoothly.

The House stood Adjourned at 8.00 pm with the play of National Anthem

Dispur The 17thAugust, 2022 Sd/-(Hemen Das) Principal Secretary Assam Legislative Assembly

Memo No.LALNG/BL/01/2022/1154

Dated Dispur the,<u>17thAugust,2022</u> 09th September, 2022

Copy forwarded to:-

- 1. All Members of the Assam Legislative Assembly
- 2. All Departments of Assam Secretariat (both Civil & P.W.D.)

Bashale

Chief Reporter-Cum- Editor of Debates &Ex-Officio Joint Secretary Assam Legislative Assembly.